¡Adios para ahora!

I can’t believe that in less than 24 hours, I’ll be on my way to Valencia for the next semester. This all still seems pretty unreal; I’ve spent the majority of this week lazing around at home, watching friends discuss classes on Facebook and it feels odd, like I accidentally forgot to go back.

I finally got around to packing these last few days. After several rounds of manically stuffing my suitcases, weighing them and realizing I’m several pounds overweight (I mean my bags, not me, ha ha), and unpacking everything again, I finally managed to cram everything into one large suitcase, a carry-on bag, and my backpack. Whoo, I can’t wait to truck that from Valencia to Gandia and back in the next few weeks.

I leave tomorrow afternoon and after making pitstops in New York and Madrid, land the following afternoon. My wonderful friends land within minutes of me. From there, we head to Gandia, where we’ll stay for the first two weeks. UPV offers a Spanish language course for which I am incredibly thankful; I haven’t exactly been using Spanish on a regular basis since I took AP IV my senior year of high school. Hopefully I’ll remember enough to get by, especially if I end up taking classes in Spanish there.

Oh yeah, that’s right. I don’t know what classes I’m taking yet. I sign up for those… soon? I’m not actually clear when. It seems already that the Spaniards take things a lot more slowly and relaxed than we do over here. Every email is responded to slowly and important details are sent at the second to last minute. Take, for example, my housing situation… which, currently, doesn’t exist. As of now, after these first weeks, I’m homeless. My plan is to go look for an apartment next weekend, which is apparently typical for exchange students.

So… yeah. That’s the situation right now. I’m going to try and regularly post on here – we’ll see how long that lasts. Other than that, hasta la vista, I suppose!

 

– from Jan. 16

Leave a Reply

